anthroposophicalbehaviour

bringing forward Waldorf/Steiner issues

medical madness

leave a comment »

Over the last decade, the University of Michigan Medical School has gotten into alternative medicine, adding IM to its curriculum and even having a fellowship in IM. At the time I first learned of this a few years ago, as disturbed as I was, I reassured myself that at least U. of M. seemed to be sticking to the milder woo, like acupuncture and massage. Then, while browsing the blogs last month, I came across reports by P.Z. Myers and Tufted Titmouse, both of which contained a link to the University of Michigan Integrative Medicine (UMIM) resource page. And what to my wondering eyes did appear? (Actually, I should rephrase that as, “What to my despairing eyes should appear?”) The answer: Anthroposophic Medicine. Yes, it’s anthroposophy, Rudolf Steiner’s mystical, magical system that is the bottom of a lot of quackery and anti-vaccine beliefs.

Read more from Science Based Medicine here…..

Written by wiremu shane

September 13, 2011 at 6:40 pm

Leave a Reply

