anthroposophicalbehaviour

bringing forward Waldorf/Steiner issues

anthroposiphical racism

leave a comment »

I need to say, that my mother-inlaw absolutely believes in this stuff. It sits at the bottom of what was wrong with the relationships in our family. Basically as I am of colour and therefore spiritually inferior, I am unacceptable..
Some statements from Pete Karaiskos in a letter he wrote to his friends and neighbours about Highland Hall Waldorf School.
I received the following report from Board of Trustees president Hasib Saliefendic:
“I have inquired on more than one occasion regarding the teachings in the classroom, as
well as interviewing teachers myself, as well as examining various classroom materials,
and my own daughter’s experiences. There is a standing request that I be informed of any
materials or activity in the classroom that are found to contain anything racist. So far, I am happy to tell you that I have found no evidence that the school has ever taught
anything racist.”
So what ARE they teaching our kids? How can it look like racism to some, but not to others? Is Highland Hall in denial about what they are teaching and if so, why? Or do they believe people won’t notice? I noticed. Now I’m asking you to notice too.

I don’t think it is too much of a leap to discuss racism when referring to this exercise. I’m not sure anyone at Highland Hall has thought through the implications of this display and how it relates to Steiner’s recurring message. Steiner believed humans were divided into races and that each race had its own unique characteristics. Some races were higher on the evolutionary ladder, others were lower, some were advancing, others were declining. For each of the races, just like for each of the temperaments, Steiner had both good and bad things to say. It was clear in Steiner’s writings, however, that some races were held in higher regard than others, with the white race being the most advanced and the “race of the future.”
You see, when we really study science and history, we must conclude that if people become increasingly strong, they will also become increasingly stupid. If the blonds and blue-eyed people die out, the human race will become increasingly dense if men do not arrive at a form of intelligence that is independent of blondness. Blond hair actually bestows intelligence. . . .It is indeed true that the more the fair individuals die out the more will the instinctive wisdom of humans vanish.” (Steiner, 1922, Health and Illness: Volume I. Trans. Maria St. Goar. Spring Valley: Anthroposophic Press, 1981. p. 86)
Read more here…..

Written by wiremu shane

September 21, 2011 at 1:12 pm

Leave a Reply

